Now all gone, one mill on the Bonnie Branch river was preserved in photos and described in this 1907 article. Wooden gears are also described from the Ellicotts' Gwynn Falls mill, and the problems they had with Oliver Evans, 200 years ago.
Elias Ellicott, one son of Ellicott City founder Andrew Ellicott, was a founding member and on the 'acting committee' of the Maryland Society was also a member of the Philadelphia Abolition Society (logo on left). The Maryland Society, founded 1789, was the sixth in the world after Phila, NY, London, Paris and Delaware. Constitution, bylaws and founding members (by 1797 membership had increased to 231) from a book 90 years later...
The stone section under the porch roof was the original jail built in 1851 and is behind the courthouse built in 1843. The National Park Service Underground Railroad Network to Freedom website HERE